Agatha Christie Reviews

Look for a fresh review of a Christie novel or adaptation in Sleuthing Sundays.


HP = Hercule Poirot

MM = Miss Marple

TT = Tommy and Tuppance

CR = Colonel Race

SB = Superintendent Battle

MW = written under pseudonym Mary Westmacott


“The Mysterious Affair at Styles” (1920, HP)

“The Secret Adversary” (1922, TT)

“The Murder on the Links” (1923, HP)

“The Man in the Brown Suit” (1924, CR)

“The Secret of Chimneys” (1925, SB)

“The Murder of Roger Ackroyd” (1926, HP)

“The Big Four” (1927, HP)

“The Mystery of the Blue Train” (1928, HP)

“The Seven Dials Mystery” (1929, SB)

“The Murder at the Vicarage” (1930, MM)

“Giant’s Bread” (1930, MW)

“The Floating Admiral” (1931, written with members of The Detection Club)

“The Sittaford Mystery” (1931, also published as “The Murder at Hazelmoor”)

“Peril at End House” (1932, HP)

“Lord Edgware Dies” (1933, HP, also published as “13 at Dinner”)

“Murder on the Orient Express” (1934, HP, also published as “Murder in the Calais Coach”)

“Why Didn’t They Ask Evans?” (1934, also published as “The Boomerang Clue”)

“Unfinished Portrait” (1934, MW)

“Three Act Tragedy” (1935, HP, also published as “Murder in Three Acts”)

“Death in the Clouds” (1935, HP, also published as “Death in the Air”)

“The A.B.C. Murders” (1936, HP, also published as “The Alphabet Murders”)

“Murder in Mesopotamia” (1936, HP)

“Cards on the Table” (1936, HP)

“Dumb Witness” (1937, HP, also published as “Poirot Loses a Client”)

“Death on the Nile” (1937, HP, also published as “Murder on the Nile” and as “Hidden Horizon”)

“Appointment with Death” (1938, HP)

“Hercule Poirot’s Christmas” (1938, HP, also published as “Murder for Christmas” and as “A Holiday for Murder”)

“Murder is Easy” (1939, SB, also published as “Easy to Kill”)

“And Then There Were None” (1939, also published as “Ten Little Indians”)

“Sad Cypress” (1940, HP)

“One, Two, Buckle My Shoe” (1940, HP, also published as “An Overdose of Death” and as “The Patriotic Murders”)

“Evil Under the Sun” (1941, HP)

“N or M?” (1941, TT)

“Five Little Pigs” (1942, HP, also published as “Murder in Retrospect”)

“The Body in the Library” (1942, MM)

“The Moving Finger” (1943, MM)

“Towards Zero” (1944, SB)

“Absent in the Spring” (1944, MW)

“Sparkling Cyanide” (1945, CR, also published as “Remembered Death”)

“Death Comes as the End” (1945)

“The Hollow” (1946, HP, also published as “Murder after Hours”)

“Taken at the Flood” (1948, HP, also published as “There Is a Tide …”)

“The Rose and the Yew Tree” (1948, MW)

“Crooked House” (1949)

“A Murder Is Announced” (1950, MM)

“They Came to Baghdad” (1951)

“Mrs. McGinty’s Dead” (1952, HP, also published as “Blood Will Tell”)

“They Do It with Mirrors” (1952, MM, also published as “Murder with Mirrors”)

“A Daughter’s a Daughter” (1952, MW)

“After the Funeral” (1953, HP, also published as “Funerals are Fatal”)

“A Pocket Full of Rye” (1953, MM)

“Destination Unknown” (1954, also published as “So Many Steps to Death”)

“Hickory Dickory Dock” (1955, HP, also published as “Hickory Dickory Death”)

“Dead Man’s Folly” (1956, HP)

“The Burden” (1956, MW)

“4.50 from Paddington” (1957, MM, also published as “What Mrs. McGillicuddy Saw!”)

“Ordeal by Innocence” (1958)

“Cat Among the Pigeons” (1959, HP)

“The Pale Horse” (1961)

“The Mirror Crack’d from Side to Side” (1962, MM, also published as “The Mirror Crack’d”)

“The Clocks” (1963, HP)

“A Caribbean Mystery” (1964, MM)

“At Bertram’s Hotel” (1965, MM)

“Third Girl” (1966, HP)

“Endless Night” (1967)

“By the Pricking of My Thumbs” (1968, TT)

“Hallowe’en Party” (1969, HP)

“Passenger to Frankfurt” (1970)

“Nemesis” (1971, MM)

“Elephants Can Remember” (1972, HP)

“Postern of Fate” (1973)

“Curtain” (1975, HP)

“Sleeping Murder” (1976, MM)

Novelizations by Charles Osborne

“Black Coffee” (1998, HP, based on 1930 play)

“The Unexpected Guest” (1999, based on 1958 play)

“Spider’s Web” (2000, based on 1957 play)

Continuations by Sophie Hannah

“The Monogram Murders” (2014, HP)

“Closed Casket” (2016, HP)

“The Mystery of Three Quarters” (2018, HP)

“The Killings at Kingfisher Hill” (2020, HP)

Short story collections

U.S. collections

“Poirot Investigates” (1924, HP)

“Partners in Crime” (1929, TT)

“The Mysterious Mr. Quin” (1930)

“The Thirteen Problems” (1932, MM, also published as “The Tuesday Club Murders”)

“Parker Pyne Investigates” (1934, also published as “Mr. Parker Pyne, Detective”)

“Murder in the Mews” (1937, HP, also published as “Dead Man’s Mirror”)

“The Regatta Mystery and Other Stories” (1939, HP, MM)

“The Labours of Hercules” (1947, HP)

“The Witness for the Prosecution and Other Stories” (1948, HP)

“Three Blind Mice and Other Stories” (1950, HP, MM, also published as “The Mousetrap and Other Stories”)

“The Under Dog and Other Stories” (1951, HP)

“Double Sin and Other Stories” (1961, HP, MM)

“The Golden Ball and Other Stories” (1971)

“The Harlequin Tea Set” (1997, HP)


TV series

“Miss Marple” (1984-92, click here for episode list)

“Agatha Christie’s Poirot” (1989-2013, click here for episode list)

“Agatha Christie’s Marple” (2004-13, click here for episode list)

TV movies and miniseries

“Love from a Stranger” (1938, based on the short story “Philomel Cottage”)

“Love from a Stranger” (1947, based on the short story “Philomel Cottage”)

“Ten Little Indians” (1949)

“Spider’s Web” (1955)

“Ten Little Indians” (1959)

“The Murder at the Vicarage” (1970, MM)

“Why Didn’t They Ask Evans?” (1980)

“Spider’s Web” (1982)

“The Seven Dials Mystery” (1982, SB)

“The Agatha Christie Hour” (1982)

“Murder is Easy” (1982, SB)

“The Witness for the Prosecution” (1982, HP)

“The Secret Adversary” (1983, TT)

“Partners in Crime” (1983, TT)

“A Caribbean Mystery” (1983, MM)

“Sparkling Cyanide” (1983, CR)

“Murder with Mirrors” (1985, MM)

“Thirteen at Dinner” (1985, HP)

“Dead Man’s Folly” (1986, HP)

“Murder in Three Acts” (1986, HP)

“The Man in the Brown Suit” (1989, CR)

“The Pale Horse” (1997)

“Murder on the Orient Express” (2001, HP)

“Sparkling Cyanide” (2003, CR)

“Partners in Crime” (2015, TT)

“And Then There Were None” (2015)

“The Witness for the Prosecution” (2016)

“Ordeal by Innocence” (2018)

“The ABC Murders” (2018, HP)

“The Pale Horse” (2020)


“The Passing of Mr. Quin” (1928, based on the short story “The Coming of Mr. Quin”)

“Alibi” (1931, HP, based on the play “Alibi,” which is based on the novel “The Murder of Roger Ackroyd”)

“Black Coffee” (1931, HP)

“Lord Edgware Dies” (1937, HP)

“A Night of Terror” (1937, also released as “Love from a Stranger,” based on the short story “Philomel Cottage”)

“And Then There Were None” (1945)

“Love from a Stranger” (1947, based on the short story “Philomel Cottage”)

“Witness for the Prosecution” (1957)

“The Spider’s Web” (1960)

“Murder, She Said” (1961, MM, based on “4.50 from Paddington”)

“Murder at the Gallop” (1963, MM, based on “After the Funeral”)

“Murder Most Foul” (1964, MM, based on “Mrs. McGinty’s Dead”)

“Murder Ahoy!” (1964, MM, borrows elements of “They Do It with Mirrors”)

“Ten Little Indians” (1965)

“The Alphabet Murders” (1965, HP)

“Endless Night” (1972)

“Murder on the Orient Express” (1974, HP)

“Ten Little Indians” (1974, also released as “And Then There Were None”)

“Death on the Nile” (1978, HP)

“The Mirror Crack’d” (1980, MM)

“Evil Under the Sun” (1982, HP)

“Ordeal by Innocence” (1985)

“Appointment with Death” (1988, HP)

“Ten Little Indians” (1989)

“Innocent Lies” (1995, loosely based on “Towards Zero”)

“Mindhunters” (2004, loosely based on “And Then There Were None”)

“Murder on the Orient Express” (2017, HP)

“Crooked House” (2017)

“Death on the Nile” (2021, HP)